top of page

Who Are You?

5 October 2014

My response to the prompt, "who are you?" during my first quarter of college in Honors 100.


Around this time last year, I was starting the processing of applying to colleges. During my search for the college that was the “right fit for me,” I had no idea what I wanted to major in or what career I wanted. This meant that a university that offered a wide range of areas of study was a top priority for me. When I found the UW, I noticed that not only did it offer a wide range of subjects, but it was also a leader in many of these fields. After doing more research, I learned about all of the opportunities that the UW could introduce to me.


One of these extraordinary opportunities was the Honors program. The highlight of the program for me was that it offered an interdisciplinary approach to education. This was very important to me because I have always been interested in a variety of subjects, and I wanted to continue to learn about new and different material in college.


Another deciding factor that lead me to choose the UW was its location. Coming from the east coast, so close to a busy hub like Washington, D.C., I was looking for a more laid back atmosphere in college. I wanted to be able to walk around the city and feel at ease, instead of feeling stressed and rushed. The first time I visited Seattle, I could tell that it was the right place for me.


While I am here in Seattle and studying at the UW, I hope to learn about a variety of subjects. This will help me figure out what I am really passionate about, or what I could dive deeper into and possibly major in. At the moment, I am interested in language, specifically French, and computer science or related fields. I am interested in exploring how I could make these two fields work together, or how they could be incorporated into a college plan and eventually a career path.


While I do not specifically know what career I want to pursue in the future, I do have some key aspects of a future career in mind. Ideally I would like to work in a creative atmosphere, where people can share ideas and collaborate on projects. This type of atmosphere will make it fun and interesting to go to work, even if the subject matter isn’t as exciting on a day-to-day basis. I also want to be challenged at work as well. Continuing to grow and learn after graduation is also very important to me. This means that an ideal career for me would offer opportunities to continue my education and even branch out into other related areas.


I am very excited to continue in the honors program at the UW and learn about all of the resources available to help me find my path through college and beyond; and I am sure that I will learn skills in the honors program that I will be able to carry with me throughout my life.


bottom of page