top of page

Early Fall Start

My experience at the University of Washington began with an Early Fall Start course called Introduction to Image Processing and Python. I was very excited to start college, meet new people, and learn some interesting aspects of computer science. However, this class was very overwhelming for me. I was completely new to the field of computer science, and had no prior programming experience. The fast-paced nature of the course only made it more stressful. I struggled to keep up with the pace of the class, and became very stressed about homework and tests. It was the most academically challenging class I had ever taken. I was also having a hard time creating a balance between my schoolwork and spending time with my friends. My time in Early Fall Start made me question whether I wanted to continue pursuing computer science. I told myself that maybe I was just not cut out for it, or that I just could not think in that way.

I was already registered for the first class of the introductory computer science series, but I went in skeptical and worried about how I would perform. To my surprise, I actually understood what the professor was talking about on my first day of class. I could complete the homework assignments with good scores, and could pass the tests. Even though my Early Fall Start class was taught with a different programming language, it helped me understand the fundamental ideas of computer science and helped me succeed in my first introductory class. I started gaining confidence in my abilities, and I began to consider computer science as a potential degree and career path again. The challenge had paid off immensely.

Although at the time Early Fall Start seemed like a burden, it turned out to be the best thing I could have done to start off my college experience. Not only did it challenge me academically, but it also facilitated the process of making friendships and building a community of people that I enjoyed being around.


Below is the culminating portfolio from this early fall start class.




bottom of page